MAC Toledo Collection “Oxblood” lipstick

The Isabelle and Ruben Toledo is a MAC spring 2015 Collection which launched January 29 online and in stores February 5. This collection (as most MAC collections) includes 6 lipsticks with matching lipglasses (I can never get used to that word), 3 eyeshadow palettes, 3 Ombre blushes, 4 mascaras, 3 nail lacquers, a brush, and a makeup bag.

On to the point of this post…

The only item that truly caught my attention was the “Oxblood” lipstick. I must be honest and mention the fact that I bought this item out of fear…Yes, that is right…Fear of missing out on a Limited Edition nude. This past year I missed out on the nude lipstick “Enchanted One” that launched with the Alluring Aquatics collection. I almost gave in and was a bid away from paying over $30 for said lipstick, but I soon came to my senses and decided to keep tabs on any new Limited Edition MAC collection. Oxblood was sold out by the time I found out about the new collection (there went keeping tabs on MAC LE Collections), but since it launched in stores a few days ago I was able to buy it the day it hit stores.

Review:

  • First of all, Oxblood may seem like an ill-fitting name for this peachy brown nude matte lipstick, but since Isabelle and Ruben are artists perhaps the color has a creatively unexpected connection to its name.
  • Packaging:
    • The lipstick comes in a printed box inside a cardboard sleeve (already looks fancy from the moment you discover the double packaging).  The box sleeve (as I will refer to it) has the collections “logo” and name printed on all sides and an intricate pattern on the inside. The actual lipstick box is a plain white yet chic with the collection’s name written in red.

      Left: Packaging sleeve with the name of the collection and the sketch design.  Right: White lipstick box with the collection name

      Left: Packaging sleeve with the name of the collection and the sketch design.
      Right: White lipstick box with the collection name

    • The texture of the lipstick bullet is similar to the smooth rubber-like texture of NARS packaging. The design used is that of a sketch that Ruben made of Isabelle’s face (cute!). 

      MAC Toledo bullet

      MAC Toledo bullet

    • Overall, for $1.50 more than a regular MAC lipstick (“Oxblood” costs $17.5) I think you definitely get your money’s worth of packaging considering the attention to detail. The packaging is truly beautiful and luxurious.
  • Texture, scent and application:
    • Soft, creamy, smooth consistency identical to that of all MAC matte lipsticks.
    • Has a hint of vanilla scent typical of MAC lipsticks. I personally love the scent because it is not too strong or sweet.                     ToledoLipstick
    • Glides on smoothly, but can be a bit drying for those of us who lack naturally moist lips. I have a bit of texture on my lips and the lipstick only clung to the driest parts (typical of matte lipsticks). I added some lip balm and the problem was solved! It is not more or less drying than any MAC matte lipstick therefore a bit of Chapstick/lip balm beforehand solved the problem with dryness I experienced.
      MAC "Oxblood" with flash. For reference, my skin tone in MAC is NC25/30

      MAC “Oxblood” with flash. For reference, my skin tone in MAC is NC25/30

      "Oxblood" with no flash and natural lighting.

      “Oxblood” with no flash and natural lighting.

  • Comparison to MAC “Kinda Sexy”:
    • “Oxblood” is a tiny bit darker (maybe less than half a shade) and has a bit more coral/orange undertone to it. Honestly though, I can’t personally tell much of a difference between them when I apply them to my lips.
      l

      Left: “Oxblood” Right: Kinda Sexy

      ToledoKindaSwatchClauToledoKindaFlash

    • Picture on the left natural lighting: “Oxblood” (L) “Kinda Sexy” (R)
    • Picture on the right flash: “Oxblood” (L) “Kinda Sexy” (R)
  • Final verdict:
    • I love this lipstick! It is a brighter nude that will be perfect for spring time. For now, my “Velvet teddy” nude is a bit more on trend with the season. I do have to say though that if you do not get your hands on oxblood, “Kinda sexy” is in my opinion an exact dupe. Given that both lipsticks are from the same brand and have the same finish, they are practically interchangeable. I do love the packaging though so I probably would have skipped on buying “Kinda sexy” if I hadn’t already owned it by the time “Oxblood” came out.

I hope this review helped you decide whether “Oxblood” is worth buying. Let me know your thoughts on these lipsticks and on the new Toledo collection. Thank you for reading!

3 thoughts on “MAC Toledo Collection “Oxblood” lipstick

Leave a Reply

