Colourpop Super Shock Cheek Blushes

I discovered Colourpop a few months ago while binge watching makeup tutorials on Youtube. A super affordable, young, unique brand that is also made in the U.S.? Yes, please! I was a little hesitant to buy these products because I like seeing products in person before purchasing them, but Colourpop only sells their products online. I bit the bullet and placed my order. I bought a couple of colors that were a bit out of my comfort zone and that I must admit have been untouched since the first time I swatched them. I did however fall in love with the formula and found a holy grail eyeshadow amongst the ones I bought. Unfortunately, I ended up being discouraged from buying more products when I placed my second order and purchased one of their lippie stix in a color that claimed to be the perfect nude when it actually ended up looking bright pink on my lips. When I found out that they were releasing blushes (or Super Shock Cheeks as they are called) a few weeks ago, I was curious to see how the eyeshadow formula would translate into blushes, so I decided to give Colourpop a third try. I finally received my order a couple of days ago and decided to review them for you (shipping took over two weeks! I do however understand that these blushes were in high demand, so no hard feelings Colourpop!). SupershockCheek

Review

  • I chose three of the blushes, each from a different color family and finish in order to test the formula.
  • Packaging:
    • The outer packaging is a cute yet simple little cardboard box with a round opening that displays the blush color.                            ColourpopPackage
  • The blushes have 0.15oz  of product and are housed in individual little white plastic pots. The instructions say that the jar should be tightly sealed in order to “keep the magic inside” (how clever!).                        ColourpopBlushContainer
  • Texture and scent:
    • Colourpop eyeshadows are known for their texture and their blushes have a similar formula. It is very difficult to describe, but I will do my best! The blushes have a cream powder formula that feels fluffy (almost spongey), soft, and leaves a bit of a wet feeling on the fingers when you touch it. Overall, these blushes can be considered a cream powder hybrid, resembling more of a powder on the cheeks.
    • They have a slight scent that reminds me a bit of erasers (I know that sounds weird), but it is a very slight scent that is only present when you smell the blush directly. There is no scent once you apply the blush.
  • Finish and color range:
    • There are two different types of finishes to choose from: satin and matte. I chose two matte blushes and a satin one.
      "Birthday Suit" (satin)

      “Birthday Suit” (satin)

      "Between the Sheets" (matte)

      “Between the Sheets” (matte)

      "Bonus" (matte)

      “Bonus” (matte)

  • The color range is phenomenal! There are 20 colors to choose from and at $8 a piece I will not feel too guilty once I accomplish my mission and end up owning all of them. The website divides the blushes by finish and by color family. I chose one from each color category: “Between the Sheets” a matte nude color, “Birthday Suit” which is a satin pink shade, and “Bonus” a matte peach blush.
Birthday Suit

“Birthday Suit”

Between the Sheets

“Between the Sheets”

Bonus

“Bonus”

  • Application and longevity:
    • These blushes apply beautifully, they go on smoothly and are very pigmented. You can apply them with your fingers or using a brush. I found that using stippling brushes works best for me. I use either the elf small stipple brush or the Makeup geek angled stippling brush (the latter works best for me).
      • I am someone who has either an overly heavy hand or too much of a light hand when it comes to applying blush, there’s no in between for me. I apply way too much and cannot seem to buff it out, or I apply so little that the blush is barely noticeable. What I love most about these blushes is that they are so user friendly that for once I was able to apply the right amount of blush! With the Makeup geek stippling brush I was able to pick up just the right amount of product, deposit it on the apples of my cheeks and beautifully blended it out. These blushes are very pigmented, but they blend out evenly.

        (Left) "Birthday Suit" (Center) "Between the Sheets" (Right) "Bonus"

        (L) “Birthday Suit” (M) “Between the Sheets” (R) “Bonus”

    • The blushes lasted for 10 hours or so without fading. I applied them in the morning before work and they looked the same by the time I washed my face at night. Needless to say, I was very impressed by the longevity of these products.
  • Comparison to Maybelline Dream Bouncy blush and Benefit’s “Majorette”:
    • Maybelline Dream Bouncy blush in “Rose Petal” is a light pink blush with a bit of sheen.
      • It is a bit more creamy-like and squishy than the Colourpop blushes, but overall they are both very similar in texture. In terms of pigmentation, the Maybelline blush is a lot more sheer and has more of a sheen to it. I do not have a color that is similar enough to the Dream Bouncy in, but I mostly wanted to compare the texture and color payoff.                       RosePetalVSBirthdaySuit
      • Colourpop Super Shock Cheek blushes are definitely a better investment in my opinion. Although both blushes are around the same price point and have similar amount of product (Colourpop costs $8.00 has 0.15 and Maybelline costs $7.49has 0.19oz). Colourpop blushes have a much larger range of colors, way better color payoff, and about three times the longevity of the dream bouncy blushes.

        (L) Maybelline "Rose Petal" (R)Colourpop "Birthday Suit"

        (L) Maybelline “Rose Petal” (R) Colourpop “Birthday Suit”

    • Benefit “Majorette” blush is one I acquired in December of 2014. I really love this blush because it gives a natural glow to the cheeks (no glitter, sparkle or sheen). The color is beautiful and the application of this blush is amazing.
      • I was happy to find that Colourpop’s “Bonus” is almost an exact color match as the “Majorette” blush (except for “Bonus” is a little more opaque and slightly brighter).

        (L) Colourpop "Bonus" (R) Benefit "Majorette"

        (L) Colourpop “Bonus” (R) Benefit “Majorette”

      • In terms of texture, “Bonus” is a little softer and more easy to apply, whereas “Majorette” has more of a dense cream consistency when picked up by a blush, but they both dry to a powder form. MajoretteVSBonus
      •  Benefit’s blush has cuter packaging with a mirror and everything, but in terms of quality for the price Colourpop is less than one third of the $28 price tag of the Benefit blush. Although “Majorette” has 0.24oz and “Bonus” has 0.15oz, the latter is still more cost efficient.                    BonusVSMajorettePackaging
  • Final Thoughts:
    • I think that these blushes are amazing! They are unique and definitely worth the price.
    • Learning how to apply them might take a little practice, but it is not too difficult.
    • Choosing colors can be a little overwhelming, but the website does a great job at dividing them by color families, finish and showing swatches on different skin tones.                                                                          

Have you tried the new Colourpop SuperShock Cheek blushes? Thank you very much for reading!

2 thoughts on “Colourpop Super Shock Cheek Blushes

  1. April says:

    I have not tried the blushes yet but have the other products- please give the lippies another chance! I am IN LOVE with their lippie pencils- to me they are similar to the UD liners- super creamy and great color selection.

    Like

    • Hahaha I only had a bad experience with the color I chose that one time. I currently own 7 or 8 of their lippie stix in various finishes and I love them! I haven’t tried the UD liners, but now I am curious.

      Like

Leave a Reply

